Dodgers vs. Rays: Evaluation of 2020 World Series


Senior Kyle Wheeler talks about the World Series. “I was happy to see Kershaw get back to his normal self, dicing guys up left and right,” Wheeler said.

Ryan Cartwright , Staff Writer

The World Series is the time where players showcase their skills and potential. This year the Los Angeles Dodgers and the Tampa Bay Rays faced off in the Fall Classic in Arlington, Texas. It was a battle of pitching staffs and offenses. The Dodgers, with Cody Bellinger, Corey Seager, Walker Buehler, Mookie Betts and Clayton Kershaw, battled the Rays who were a team that surprised everyone with the way they played up to this point.

The Rays were made up of standouts Randy Arozarena, Blake Snell, Tyler Glasnow, and Kevin Kiermaier.

Luckily, the MLB allowed fans to be able to attend this year.

The series started off with the Dodgers taking game 1 by a score of 8-3. That game the Dodgers started Clayton Kershaw and the Rays started Tyler Glasnow. A cool fact about Tyler Glasnow is that he had a medical procedure done on his throwing hand which makes him grip a fastball different than some players in the league. But even with this grip, he is still able to throw 100 mph, which is crazy.

This year was a weird year for baseball. The season was shortened from 162 games to 60. Teams had to figure out how to manage their teams as the season was much shorter than years before.

The World Series had both teams going at each other with all they had.

One game, one team would win, then the next game, the other team would win. I would say this year was more exciting than past years.

Each game was filled with great defensive and offensive play, and great pitching. Blake Snell in Game 6 was some of the best pitching I have ever seen live. Just the way he was able to keep the batters off balance and able to get deep into the game to give the bullpen less work. Eventually, he was pulled by their manager.

That’s when the Dodgers gained momentum and after the game hoisted up the Commissioner’s Trophy.

After 32 years the Los Angeles Dodgers finally won it all.